Quiz Feb. 06
1. In a stroke play event, a playerís ball is thought to have come to rest in a hazard. Upon reaching the hazard the player discovers that there are two balls in the hazard lying one in front of the other. Neither ball is identifiable and the ball nearest the hole interferes with the play of the ball farthest from the hole. The player lifts the ball farthest from the hole and cleans it enough to discover that itís his ball. What is the ruling?
a. The player incurs a one stroke penalty.
b. The player incurs a two stroke penalty.
c. The player incurs no penalty.
d. The player is disqualified from the hole only.
2. A competitorís ball lies next to a fellow competitors ball on the putting green. While the competitor is raking the bunker after his stroke to the green, the fellow competitor asks the competitor if itís ok to mark and lift both balls. The competitor says ok. The fellow competitor after cleaning both balls replaces them but inadvertently exchanges the balls. Both players putt out and discover the error on the next teeing ground. What is the ruling?
a. There is no penalty to either player.
b. The fellow competitor incurs a two stroke penalty.
c. The competitor incurs a two stroke penalty.
d. Both the competitor and fellow competitor incur a two stroke penalty.
3. A competitor marks the position of her ball on the putting green, and then she kicks the ball a few feet away. When it is her turn to putt she putts from where the kicked ball came to rest. She is penalized for playing from a wrong place.
a. True b. False
4. An opponent is taking a drop under a rule. The dropped ball strikes a root and causes the ball to defect up a slight slope and travels more than two club lengths. As the ball starts to roll back toward the area of where it struck the root, the opponents caddie lifts the ball. What is the ruling?
a. There is no penalty to the opponent because the ball rolled more than two club lengths.
b. The opponent incurs a two stroke penalty.
c. The opponent incurs a loss of hole penalty.
d. The opponent incurs a one stroke penalty.
5. A competitor in a two-day stroke play tournament misses an easy putt on the 18th hole of the first round competition. After putting out and his fellow competitors have left the putting green he angrily throws his ball into a nearby pond. He puts his clubs in his car trunk and turns his card into the scoring area. He then goes back to his car and gets another ball, returns to the spot where he missed the easy putt and replays the stroke. The competitor is disqualified from the competition.
a. True b. False
6. A ball is struck into an area of extremely tall grass and the player believing the ball may be lost properly announces and plays a provisional ball. Upon arriving at the area, the player discovers it is marked as Ground Under Repair where his ball is likely to be. Which of the following is correct?
a. The provision ball must be abandoned.
b. The provisional ball is the ball in play because the original ball is not lost in a water hazard.
c. The player may proceed under the applicable Rule 25-1c(i) or continue play with the provisional ball under Rule 27-2b.
d. The player must proceed under Rule 25-1c(i).
7. A competitorís marker recorded some of the scores in the wrong boxes on the scorecard. The competitor scratched out the wrong hole numbers and wrote in the correct numbers before turning in the scorecard and having the marker sign the scorecard. The Committee must refuse the scorecard and have the competitor fill out a new scorecard.
a. True b. False
8. In stroke play a player when dropping a ball under a Rule drops the ball in a wrong place. Having some doubts he invokes Rule 3-3 (Doubt as to Procedure) and drops a second ball correctly. Which of the following is incorrect in an attempt to avoid incurring a penalty?
(a). Declare which ball he wants to score with and play out the hole
with both balls.
(b). Abandon the first dropped ball and play the second dropped ball.
(c). Abandon the second dropped ball and play the first dropped ball.
9. If a player plays a provisional ball from the tee and hits it into the same area as the original ball and upon reaching the balls is unable to identify which is the original or provisional ball the player may select either ball as the provisional ball and abandon the other ball, and play his 4th stroke.a. True b. False